When to Use the QM Rubric: 

The QM Rubric reflects current research finding and national standards of best practice in online learning.   The rubric consists of a set of 8 general standards with 41 specific standards used to evaluate the design of online and blended courses.    

Eight General Review Standards:  

  1. Course Overview and Introduction
  2. Learning Objectives
  3. Assessment and Measurement
  4. Instructional Materials
  5. Learner Interaction and Engagement
  6. Course Technology
  7. Learner Support
  8. Accessibility


Unique to the QM Rubric critical course components, Standards 2-6, reinforce one another to ensure that students achieve the desired learning outcomes.  When aligned each of these  course components is directly tied to and support the learning objectives.


The QM Rubric consists of 41 standards assigned different points related to their importance.  There are 21 essential standards valued at 3 points.  There are 20 remaining standards assigned 1 or 2 points.   The maximum points are 95.

 To Meet QM: 

1. Answered “Yes” to all 3-point Essential Standards    AND   2. A total overall score of 81 out of 95 points.

View the QM Rubric:

1. To view the QM Rubric with Annotations, log into MCC Wiki
2. Log in with your MEID@mcccd.org and your password.

Learn more… 

Go to the QM Rubric: http://www.qmprogram.org/rubric